An American Bibliophile in London

This will hopefully (time permitting) be the first of several posts about geekdom in the United Kingdom.

I am currently doing my student teaching in a suburb of Manchester.  Each student is required to bring in a book to read during their downtime.  I, being the bibliophile that I am, immediately wanted to know what each student was reading.  What’s really cool is that though they may be reading the same books as we do in the States, the covers are completely different for many famous books.

Then this weekend I visited London and went to FIVE BOOKSTORES IN ONE DAY.  Here are some of the covers I saw that I thought were way cooler than their American counterparts:

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater.  The only disappointing thing about this edition, is that in the U.S. edition, the font is colored (Shiver has blue font, Linger has green, and Forever has red) and these just had normal font color.

SAM_2311

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Insurgent by Veronica Roth.  I love the American covers for these books, but the U.K. edition of Insurgent is just SO pretty.  Unfortunately, being at a used bookstore, this was the only Veronica Roth book they had, so I didn’t get to see the other books’ covers in real life.

SAM_23120 insurgent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mattimeo by Brian Jacques.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins.  If they had had the whole series, I would have bought them.  It was so shiny!

SAM_2303

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo on 2014-03-31 at 10.51Weirdly enough, I was also able to find the Canadian adult edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in Forbidden Planet, a huge comic book store.  This marks my 19th different edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone!

For those who may not know, there are two versions of HP sold in Canada.  The English version, and these gems.  Apparently, adults were too embarrassed to be seen reading the brightly colored UK editions on the train to work, so Bloomsbury created classy adult covers.

 

Leave a comment