CTCon 2016 – Dalin’s Thoughts

A few weeks ago, I got to attend ConnectiCon 2016 – a convention that I hold really close to my heart. I love the unique mixture of nerdy guests they get, along with having a big con feel with (currently) enough space to explore and not get those tight and smelly issues that most popular cons suffer from. ConnectiCon is also an event that seems to pride itself on diversity, whether it be within the content it offers, or the incredible amounts of different people that are drawn to attend year after year. These things, and more, keep me coming back to this Connecticut homegrown convention without fail, and this year had some fantastic highlights that need to be celebrated.

IMG_6410 IMG_6411

I’ve been very lucky that every time I’ve come to CTCon, they’ve allowed me to present a panel or two – and this year was no different. The first one I did on Friday (that detailed the worst films of Goodtimes Entertainment) was a great success. We laughed, we happy-cried, and we groaned – and the turn out was crazy, especially considering that when I started the panel, it seemed like no one was going to show up. But when the doors were officially opened, the room filled up to almost 75% capacity – and my jaw proceeded to drop. This was also the case with my second panel, wwhich focused on the 90’s Non-Disney animation industries highs and lows. I really want to thank every single one of you that attended either (or both) of these presentations – it warmed my heart to see your smiling faces!

IMG_6466  IMG_6461

But of course, I wasn’t just there for show – but to capture the magic going on with the other attendees. The cosplay this year was a marvel to see. With princesses, demons, and even a Ghostbuster meeting Jesus, there was definitely something that made heads all turn in astonishment. If I had to pick a favorite, it would be the awesome girl I found dressing up as Seymour from Little Shop of Horrors, complete with an Audrey II in hand. As for me, I was representing my love of J-Fashion, even putting in some tributes to vintage toys like Care Bears on my last day.

IMG_6413 IMG_6417

As for other panels, there were a ton that were fantastic, while some left much to be desired. There were some great celebrity ones, including Star Trek DS9’s Nana Visitor and Michael Dorn. They gave some fantastic stories, and even deflected some slightly creepy fan moments with great style. Meanwhile, the Ghostbusters fan panel left a sour taste in many a person’s mouth. I’m not saying that CTCon needs to do any sort of interviews for their future panelists (since everybody should have a chance), but I definitely think there needs to be a basic panels guideline that have to be met. Maybe sending in slideshows or concept sheets? Something like this would be helpful in avoiding future disappointments with the entertainment.

IMG_6465 IMG_6463

But this year’s ConnectiCon had so much good going for it. Awesome friends, panels, food (shout out to Front Street Bistro, who fed my group the entire weekend – literally) and shopping all around. I seriously can’t wait to return again. Hopefully the line/pre-reg situation and other issues get figured out (which you can read about here)  in the future – since I always want to return. At this point, this con feels like my own personal comfy place, and like Dorothy says “There’s No Place Like Home”.

IMG_6452 IMG_6456

Did you attend CTCon? Will you be returning or want to go next year? Comment below and tell us your thoughts. Also, big thanks (again) to all of those that attended my panels – and if you stayed the entire time, you’re the best! Hope to return next year with even more awesome content to share. Also look for a cosplay montage video soon! 

Leave a Reply

