To the Tune of Harry Potter: Top Potter Inspired Songs

Loving Harry Potter as a child and loving music used to be two separate entities in my life. As I grew older, I learned there was a whole world of Harry Potter-related music waiting to be explored. For this Harry Potter Week, I’ve decided to focus on some of my favorite Harry Potter inspired music (mostly of the parody variety).

Jon Cozart- “99 Seconds of Harry Potter”

Hands down, my favorite. I could listen to “99 Seconds of Harry Potter” any time, any day. This song tells the story of all seven books using the main theme music from the movies. It’s witty, well written, and beautifully performed by Jon Cozart AKA Paint.

 

A Very Potter Musical- “Granger Danger”

“Granger Danger” was the one song in Starkid’s AVPM that really targeted the Harry Potter fan in me. The song juxtaposes a canon and a fan-favorite relationship: Ron and Hermione with Draco and Hermione, respectively. I have always loved that Starkid played with the idea that Draco loves Hermione and the song balances both characters and gives them personality through their own unique melody.

Draco and the Malfoys- “99 Death Eaters”

This was the first song I found when I first listened to Wrock (Wizard Rock). I think it’s a great representation of the genre of music that’s become so huge to many Harry Potter fans. Draco and the Malfoys are a more well-known Wrock group. This song in particular uses the melody “99 Red Balloons” and changed the lyrics to “99 Death Eaters” in a clever new take on the original song.

Potter Puppet Pals- “The Mysterious Ticking Noise”

A long time favorite, “The Mysterious Ticking Noise” is probably one of the most famous Harry Potter parody songs. The characterization done through the puppets helps the song come alive and even though the song is literally just names. While Potter Puppet Pals had a lot of hits, this catchy and super-fun tune was probably the best.

Not Literally Productions- “I Was Sorted this Way”

Using the melody of “Born this Way” by Lady Gaga, this parody advocates for house pride, no matter what house you’re sorted into. The song focuses on Hufflepuffs but it’s great for any house. Even in the muggle world, it’s not uncommon for people to have preconceived ideas based on someone’s Hogwarts House and while it’s a parody, you can’t help but have a sense of house pride listening to it.

KFaceTV- “Dark Lord Funk”

Honestly, I just recently heard this for the first time recently. But I instantly knew it would be one I would go back to. Using the tune of “Uptown Funk”, Voldemort jams out, integrating the music from Harry Potter into this popular Bruno Mars hit. It’s just as catchy as the original and extremely fun to listen to.

Whitney Avalon- “Katniss vs Hermione: Princess Rap Battle”

This rap battle is epic as it pits Literary favorites Katniss and Hermione against each other. It shows the strength of Hermione’s character for sure and it’s got some pretty epic take downs. I love this rap battle and I think it’s one of the best I’ve seen. In my opinion Hermione slays Katkniss. After all, she is the brightest witch of her age.

Nacho Punch- “Like it’s Quidditch”

This is one I watched a long time ago and then recently rediscovered. Shockingly, I’m not a fan of the song “Like a G6” but I can enjoy it in the form of a Harry Potter parody. If you watch the video for this particular parody, you might recognize a current cast member from SNL which was a pleasant surprise for me upon rewatching this video.

A Very Potter Sequel- “Harry Freakin’ Potter”

Definitely one of my favorites, Starkid does it again and nails a Harry Potter theme, poking fun at the ego those around Harry really may have built for him. It’s fun, it’s catchy, and it’s a fitting tune to carry in the second story the Very Potter Trilogy. (Jump to the 4:50 mark if you want minimal dialogue)

So whether it’s through musicals, original songs, or parodies of popular music, Harry Potter found his way into all different kinds of music. Now music lovers and HP lovers like myself can enjoy both of our loves at the same time!

Leave a Reply

