“Pokémon Go” Review: A Suburbia Player Rising to the Challenge

Pokémon Go is a lot of fun but is tough for suburban towns and communities. It can be tough for a lot of people outside of the city to keep up and catch as many pokémon because it is based on cell phone data. The density of cell phone data in an area means more pokémon, pokestops, and gyms.

pikachu.jpg

This game is addicting and a lot of fun. It gets you up and moving around. For those of us in the suburbs, it means also exploring nearby cities and towns and finding places to walk around and enjoy more. For me, this was Boston, Plymouth, Bridgewater State University,  and my hometown. It got me venturing to places I had enjoyed before, and new places. It got me meeting people who were also walking around seeking pokémon and it gave my friends and I a reason to enjoy walks more.

Meowth.png

While it can be tough for suburban players, there are tons of possibilities and positive spins on venturing out and seeing more. You have this opportunity in front of you to meet people, get a group together for scouting, and to try new places. But if you are a suburban resident annoyed by this, you must rise to the challenge to find places pokémon might be: the beach, the city, a local college, a cool hiking trail. Try it out, let me know what you find.

eevee

Making these trips has made it possible for me to find way more than I would have previously just sitting at work and my apartment. I love getting out and looking for pokémon in cool places. Let me know if you see anything cool on your adventures, and any places you came up with to find cool ones!

About Jenn Kilgallon

I am a millennial professional seeking out good, healthy habits while still committing to my geek life. I am a proud life optimizer, and a spiritual person of many practices. I want to share that with you! "Always maintain the attitude of a student. If you think you've done learning, bitterness sets in, but if you have more to achieve every day, in any arena, that makes each morning's awakening full of potential and cheery portent."-Nick Offerman Geek. Writer. Artist. Genius. Tea Drinker.

Leave a Reply

