A Bombshell Review: DC Comics Bombshell Fashion Collection

20160405_ht_hp_bombshells_mb.jpg

hottopic.com

 

You may remember from my previous reviews that Hot Topic and I have a love/hate relationship. I love everything about the clothes, and the hardcore representations of fandoms. I just can’t stand their sizing! This time around, DC Comics Bombshell collection is on the block. Fortunately, my local Hot Topic had every item from the line in store. Everything I tried on is a size XL, except for the Wonder Woman shorts, which are a size 15. A quick note before we dive in, I am not wearing the proper undergarments. I wasn’t expecting everything to be in store, so pardon the sports bra. Let’s begin!

Harley Quinn Bomber Jacket:20160413_121147.jpg

This is the one item from this line I wanted. I will never be able to make the perfect replica of this jacket on my own, so store-bought it is! The embroidery on the back is quality, and the material on the jacket itself feels great. It is faux leather and faux fur, so my friends that don’t wear animal products are safe to purchase.  The only problem was it runs a little too small. I felt like I could Hulk out of the back. I ordered the 3XL, just to be safe.20160413_121202.jpg

 

Wonder Woman:

Both items for Wonder Woman are good quality. The shirt is made from polyester, rayon, and spandex – great stretchy material. The shorts are made from cotton, polyester, and spandex. The shirt fit alright thanks to the stretchy material. However, I could use a bigger size. The buttons on the shirt are snap closures, but they definitely feel like they could hold. They pulled, but what do you expect from a shirt that doesn’t fit correctly? The shirt is cut weird, but it is tie top, so I’m not surprised. Honestly, a bigger size will correct these issues. The shorts, however, were amazing and so comfortable! They are high waisted shorts with the perfect amount of stretch. On a more personal note, they were also proof that my new health regimen is working.  

Needless to say, I bought them. 20160413_115741.jpg

 

Batgirl Dress:

Made from polyester and spandex, this dress felt nice. It fit almost perfectly, considering I had a sports bra on. With that in mind, the XL is great for a person my size with very little bust. The dress falls at a very nice length, just above the knee. I would buy this dress. It is so comfortable and adorable!20160413_121218.jpg

 

Poison Ivy Dress:

I love this adorable dress with all of my heart. It is everything Poison Ivy. However, this dress has no give at all. The moment I saw the side zipper, I should have known.  There was no way that zipper was going to close. Disappointing, considering the other items from the line were made with stretchy fabrics.20160413_120928.jpg

Final Verdict:

Overall, I am extremely pleased with this collection. Everything was well made with very high quality material. While I wish the sizing ran the same across the board, I’m glad the plus size options are always available. Maybe stock some of them in store for us? Bigger sized women need their fandom love at a moments notice too!  
What are your thoughts on the new fashion collection? Do you love it? Do you hate it? Let’s discuss!

One thought on “A Bombshell Review: DC Comics Bombshell Fashion Collection

  1. Appreciate the review. My wife is thinking of getting the Batwoman a/o Wonder Woman items for future cosplays.

Leave a Reply

