Things To Do While You Wait for The Raven King

image

If you love Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle, obviously you’re overflowing with anticipation for the final book in the series, The Raven King.  The book, which was originally due out this month, is now coming out March 29th.  I have been waiting patiently, as I want the best book, and I’m willing to wait longer if it means better quality.  At this point however, I’m ready to burst.  I’ve got to know what happens!  I’ve got some strategies for how to keep myself occupied, and just in case you’re in the same boat as me, I’ve decided to share them!

image

1. Reread the first three books in The Raven Cycle.  If you’re a Stiefvater fan, you’ll know from The Wolves of Mercy Falls, that she riddles her books with hints.  Hopefully, The Raven King will be no exception!  A reread is a great way to keep the characters fresh in your mind for when you are finally opening The Raven King to sit down and read.  When there’s more than a year in between books in a series, it can be difficult to recall details.

2. Make your friends read the first three.  I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have friends to squee about Ronan and Gansey with.  It’s also nice to have real, live people to speculate about the plot points with.

image

3.  Get the Raven Cycle inspired Tarot cards that Maggie Stiefvater hand drew.  Pretend to be characters from the book.  Determine what the fourth book holds in store for them.

4. Go on tumblr and look at all the beautiful fan made Raven Cycle art. There is some truly amazing stuff out there.  Some of it by Stiefvater herself!  I love seeing her interpretation of her characters, to see if they match up with what I think they look like.

5.  Read some Raven Cycle fanfics.  If you’re not getting your fix yet, this is an AWESOME way to do it.  People have some pretty cool theories for what will happen in the next book, and it’s always fun to see if they’re right.

6. Read some other Stiefvater!  I love The Raven Cycle, but The Scorpio Races will always be my favorite of Maggie’s books.  It’s a stand alone novel, so if you start it now, you’d probably be finishing it up by the time The Raven King is released.  If you’re a quick reader, go for the whole Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, and then read Sinner.  It’s much more mushy/romantic than The Raven Cycle, but Stiefvater’s beautiful storytelling will pull any reader in.

7.  Make some of your own Raven Cycle fan art!  Maggie Stiefvater is crazy talented.  She writes, draws, paints, plays a bunch of musical instruments, and is amazing with cars.  A great way to get inspired is through a novel series you love.

8.  Learn something new about your car.  I know this is horrible, but I totally feed into the stereotype of being a woman who knows very little about what’s under the hood of my car.  Reading these books, where Gansey and Adam are consistently fixing cars and characters find themselves stranded on the side of the road, it makes me more eager to learn how to not get into those situations.

What have you been doing to pass the time until The Raven King comes out? Share some of your strategies below!

One thought on “Things To Do While You Wait for The Raven King

Leave a Reply

