Dalin’s Most Anticipated Movies of 2016

Well hello there, New Year! Glad to see you join us. You sure have a lot to live up to, as 2015 left a pretty high standard for the movie-going experience, particularly of those about far away galaxies. So what movies can and should you look forward to in 2016? Well I certainly can’t force any particular choices onto your personal list, but I definitely want to tell you mine, in the hopes that we can celebrate their releases together!

So without further ado, let’s take a look at my picks for what movies I’m excited to see in 2016.

*This is my personal list, and there are some movies not included because I am generally interested but not losing-my-mind-over my excitement about them.

Doctor Strange

10. Doctor Strange

Many of you are going to scream at me for not putting the obvious choice on this list, but there’s this tiny part of me that is a little more excited for Doctor Strange than Civil War, simply because I am pumped for one thing: Magic. Yep, there has not been a ton of razzle dazzle in the Marvel films, with the exception of Thor, who ironically is my favorite member of the Avengers. I’ve loved Tony, Steve and the gang just as much as anyone, and they have brought a lot a fantastic moments to the silver screen – but none of them have felt, well, majestic or mystical. But Doctor Strange is made for that kind of storytelling and feeling, and even though this is just an origin movie, the fact that we’re close to see him play with the “big boys” (and girls) of the MCU is really exciting. Also Tilda Swinton. I’m always excited for Tilda Swinton.

first-official-teaser-trailer-for-godzilla-resurgence-hits-the-web

9. Godzilla: Resurgence

It’s no secret that I’m a giant Kaiju nerd. And in most cases, if you put a movie starring a monster in it, I will somehow love it, even if it is a piece of trash. But then there are the actually good-looking, made-with-dedication Kaiju efforts – and the new Toho-made Godzilla film feels like that. I actually really dug the recent western take on the King of the Monsters, but it was not without its flaws. Seeing a brand new, Japan-made Godzilla film, is a really exciting thing to behold. But when it’s directed by the one and only god of ridiculous messed up storytelling, Hideaki Anno, then you’ve really got my interest. With a new, terrifying, design, this ain’t your grandma’s Godzilla film. Trust me.

my big fat greek wedding

8.  My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2

I never thought I’d see the day where I would be able to see,  and be excited for, a sequel to My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Not only was this one of the few gems to actually make me giggle with delight, but when you tell me that the sequel will have just as much John Corbett and company hilariousness, well sign me up! But more importantly, there seems to be epic cameos galore, and lots more Windex. Truly, my body is ready for more Portokalos adventures. And I don’t care if that makes me seem like the most basic, idiotic movie goer there is – give me Windex, and I shall be there in a heartbeat.

The_Witch_still

7. The Witch

2015 was kind of “eh” when it came to horror films. But with the return of a few franchises, and the number 7 movie on this list, I feel horror will come back and dominate with good entries into the genre. The Witch is an indie flick that mixes the creepy aspects of The Crucible with a more fantasy twist – one that is sure to scare the living daylights out of even this seasoned film goer. Period piece? Weird imagery? And witches? Yes darling, sounds like my cup of disturbing tea.

i saw the light

6. I Saw The Light

I’ll confess that I am a junky for bio-pics, particularly ones that are about musicians. And even more specifically ones that star movie star crushes of mine, like I Saw The Light does. Seeing my darling Tom Hiddleston play one of the greatest music icons of all time (Hank Williams) is a joy to be behold, or that’s what it seems like from the trailers. And though it would have been great to see this during its original release date (November 2015) I’m fine with waiting a few months so I can truly enjoy the moment of seeing the Hiddles get his much deserved respect in the music movie genre.

ghostbusters-2016

5. Ghostbusters

Some will say this movie looks awful, but I am of the camp that likes to believe this movie looks baller. With Spy, Paul Fiegg seriously proved himself in not only being the king of comedy flicks these days, but also delivering some of the best action sequences of 2015. Did anyone ever think they’d see Melissa McCarthy as an action star? I can’t say I did, but with Spy, both Fiegg and McCarthy proved they got what it takes to break their film stereotypes. And with Ghostbusters, I feel they’ll do it again. With some of the best female comedians in SNL history (Wigg, McKenna, and Jones), along with clever spins on the original (Chris Hemsworth as the receptionist? Yus yus!) there’s a lot going for this new Ghostbusters. Seriously, have faith, people.

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 4.54.37 PM

4. Jungle Book

At D23 this year, I got the chance to see the exclusive preview of The Jungle Book, which could be the biggest surprise of 2016’s release schedule. With absolutely stunning visuals, a cast that rivals most movies, and Jon Favreau at the wheel, this is a film that really seems to have the potential for greatness. Sure, I could be thinking way too much into it, but since the majority of my childhood was spent being scared of the 90’s live action version, maybe I have some hope that this one will be a more positive experience for me.

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 4.55.35 PM

3. Star Wars: Rogue One

I might not be super excited for some of those big franchise movies – save for one. Yeah, I love Star Wars, and regardless of what Star Wars thing you put in front of me, I will watch it. Now with the recent success of The Force Awakens, Star Wars has come back – big time, and Rogue One will hopefully continue the excitement further. We don’t know too much about the movie, other than it is part of the new anthology movie series, and it has to do with stealing the plans for the Death Star – but even with that basic information, I’m already hooked. Plus the details we were told at D23, there is a lot to look forward to. Continue the hype, Rogue One, continue it with pride.

legend of tarzan

2. The Legend of Tarzan

Speaking of stories within jungles, I would be lying to you if I didn’t mention how excited I am for the new Tarzan. Why? Well simply put, I’ve been raised to love Edgar Rice Burroughs’ work. And as one of the few defenders of John Carter, there is a part of me that really hopes this new incarnation of the King of the Jungle wins over the hearts of audiences, and that Tarzan will stay on the silver screen for many more movies to come. Oh, and seeing Alexander Skarsgård in the lead role ain’t bad either (insert all the winks.)

CrouchingTiger_THUMB-1412791301724_1280w

1. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny

There are movies you go to enjoy the story. Then there are films you go to enjoy the spectacle. And then there are the rare cinematic pieces that accomplish both –  Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon was one of them. And finally, 16 years later, we’re getting a sequel. One that stars one of my cinematic heroes, Michelle Yeoh, and will be premiering both on IMAX and Netflix. Is this real life? Why yes, Dalin, it is. Although the sequel didn’t get original director Ang Lee back, the unique visuals and sparkle of the original still seem to be here in this new installment. And if I am able to live in a world where one of my favorite childhood movie franchises returns to the minds of the public at large, I will be one happy movie goer for sure.

So those are my picks for movies in 2016. What is on your list? Do we share any similar choices? Wanna make a case for me to get excited for the big, superhero movies of 2015? Seriously, that one with the Bat and the Super dude has yet to really impress me. Comment below with all your feels!

One thought on “Dalin’s Most Anticipated Movies of 2016

  1. Definitely excited for Doctor Strange! The Witch I hadn’t heard of, I’ll definitely have to add that to my list as well.

Leave a Reply

