Trailer-Palooza: The Best and Worst Trailers Released Before “The Force Awakens”

Some of you might have noticed that in the past week or so, a lot–and I mean a lot–of trailers have dropped. Why? Well it just so happens that the biggest movie event of the year, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, is coming out in just a week. And what does that mean? Well, a lot of big time movies want to grab your attention before you see the craziest cinematic experience of 2015–so they can get you pumped for the ones that could be the top dog for 2016.

So, which of these advertisements has gotten my film nerd dreams blazing? Well here’s a list of what I think are the cream of the crop, and bottom of the barrel, from the trailers that could be in front of your screening next weekend.

The Legend of Tarzan

If you were to ask me which one of the trailers that “won” this battle thus far, Tarzan would get that prize by a landslide. From the incredibly lush cinematography, to the sweeping tree sequences, this looks like the exact kind of movie I want to spend my hard earned IMAX money on. Yeah, sure, there is eye candy that I enjoy here, but as a very big Edgar Rice Burroughs fangirl (not to mention a die-hard John Carter defender), this seems right up my alley. There are few movies with visuals now a days that take my breath away, but that last scene in the rain before it cuts to the title, definitely did just that.

X-Men: Apocalypse 

So, here is where I become a complete debbie downer…. I don’t really like the X-Men movies. Now, I’m not saying they are terrible, some of them are actually really enjoyable. But the last film, Days of Future Past, left me oddly dissatisfied. It felt over-saturated with too many characters that got little to almost no screen time. Once Quicksilver, who was arguably the best part of the entire film, left after the 20 minute mark, I ended up falling asleep. So with the release of this new trailer for the franchise, I’m left with that same feeling. Maybe it is the borderline bizarre visual effects, or me thinking that Apocalypse himself looks like Ivan Ooze from The Power Rangers Movie, but I have little to no interest here. Well, except for the last frame, featuring a familiar face. That was the X-Men I love and adore.

Captain America: Civil War

I think we all know what is easily the best Superhero trailer of this bunch. Yes, Marvel has indeed struck gold again with this magnificent masterpiece of a preview, and every second of it I adore. I’m really happy to see the Russo Brothers back for another adventure with Captain America, a winning combination that worked beautifully together in Winter Solider, and seems to be the case thus far with Civil War. I was lucky enough to see the first trailer for this at D23 Expo over the summer, which featured a bit more lighthearted humor than this version does. Either way, this movie has sky-rocketed to the top of my anticipation list.

The BFG

Recently, I got the chance to see Matilda: The Musical, and upon that viewing my interest in anything Roald Dahl has increased tremendously. So it seems pretty fitting that the trailer for the next cinematic adaptation of Dahl’s work, The BFG, would be released during the peak of my curiosity. For the most part, this trailer seems absolutely magical…that is until the very creepy, obviously CGi hand comes in to take our heroine off on her adventure. Though the lack of decent effects leaves a bit of a awkward taste in my mouth, the rest of this new Steven Spielberg movie reminds me of the magic of his favorite creation of mine, Hook, and that is never a bad thing.

Zoolander 2

I’ve talked a lot on here about my somewhat weird relationship with comedy movies. Yes, I like to laugh, but often comedy specific films tend to make me feel forced to laugh, rather than have the action come naturally, which often is rarely the case. But with Zoolander 2‘s first full trailer, I can tell you with complete honesty, I’ve never laughed at something remotely like this from beginning to end quite like I have here. Seriously, this is comic genius. Bless you, Stiller, you still got the magic.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

So, I’m a pretty big Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles fan. In fact, the original film from 1990 is one of my favorite movies in the entire world, and in my opinion is one of the best comic book adaptations done for the screen. The other films since then have left me to feel very much the opposite, with some being only slightly better than others. So when trailers like this comes out, I’m continually left incredibly disappointed in the direction this franchise is going. There are some good aspects: the fight scenes and Stephen Amell’s casting as Casey Jones is on point. But Bebop and Rock Steady look like they came out of a Playstation 1 nightmare from my childhood–no, that isn’t a good thing. Ugh is all I can say.

Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice

I’ll be frank: this is my least favorite trailer here. Why? Well, as a few have said, The Batman v. Superman aspect is great, but everything after that part is a mess (you know, the part that ruins the entire movie). I’m not going to go further, because for the few of you that haven’t seen this spoiler heavy piece of insanity, then I want to just simply warn you: Don’t bother watching this. But for the many that have seen it, and will have to see it again before Star Wars–I’m sorry. That is all.

And those are a few of the big trailers coming your way that could, and will probably be in front of, Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Are you excited to see any of these again on the big screen, or hope that you can run to the bathroom in time to miss them? Which is your favorite and least favorite? Did you get ruined by the Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Spoilers fail fest? Comment below and tell us your feels.

Leave a Reply

