The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 Review

So the fourth and final Hunger Games film was released and I’m pretty satisfied. They stayed true to the scenes in the book and overall it was an amazing movie. If you haven’t seen it and don’t want spoilers, stop reading here.  
My biggest issue with the movie was the parts that were missing. My favorite part of the book was when Katniss and Johanna train together. The building of their relationship and seeing them growing and becoming strong together, healing together, not only developed their characters but showed their determination.


Another part of the book that was completely absent from Mockingjay parts 1 and 2, was the daily living of District 13. There was a lot of time spent in the books in District 13. I could understand how some might see this as less important to the story than the details of the battles and traveling through the Capitol but I honestly think it’s just as important. Those scenes were in the book to show these characters as people. When you cut those scenes, all you have is soldiers. Maybe Katniss and Peeta got a little more humanization than the other characters but it was still a lot less. Yes, they showed Peeta’s transition from hijacked to somewhat normal, but in the book it was a much longer process. He was also released far before the mission in The Capitol but obviously that couldn’t happen in the movie since they took out all the parts about life within District 13.

One part that surprised me for sure, was the kiss between Haymitch and Effie. Here’s why I didn’t mind it; Effie wasn’t even in the book so if they decided that there was some sexual tension between the two that I apparently missed, then I support it. Obviously it didn’t flesh out or Haymitch wouldn’t be spending his candle lit dinners with Katniss and Peeta.
I was happy with the death scenes. Obviously not that the characters themselves died (except maybe Coin), but I’m stating that because at this point multiple people have told me they weren’t. When I read the book it took me a couple pages to realize that a character had died and when I did I had to go back and reread those scenes. In the book those scenes happened very quickly and the film stayed true to that. It’s often very dramatized in movies and books when characters die, and yes we want that because we’re attached to these people and we want to see that they’re given time to be mourned, but in a real life battle there isn’t that time. That time is when the battle is over, and in the books and the movies we don’t really get to see that time after the war.


It was hard to have any issues with the rest of the movie. It could’ve been longer but I honestly would have sat there for a four hour movie if it meant getting in every single detail of the book, and I know that’s not realistic. The script was well done and pretty accurate to the book. I got my favorite line:

“You love me. Real or not real?”

“Real.”

The mutts were not exactly what I pictured but they were still pretty scary.

The score was absolutely beautiful and I really appreciated the hint of “The Hanging Tree.”

The acting, as always, was flawless. The first thing I thought when watching was how personable and sweet Liam Hemsworth seems in interviews, but I couldn’t help but hate him so much. Josh Hutcherson did an amazing job at portraying Peeta’s confusion and his recovery. Jennifer Lawrence outshines them all of course. With amazing strength and connection to the character, she makes the movie. She does justice to Katniss’s story with every action and line. If I wasn’t convinced in the last three movies, this one confirmed that there was never anyone better to play that role.

So enjoy Tributes, and may the odds be ever in your favor one last time!

Three finger salute gif

Leave a Reply

