Dalin’s Highlights of ABC Family’s 25 Days of Christmas 2015

Alright, now normally I never touch the realms of TV land. But considering that this programming block revolves around film, I think it is totally acceptable to write on this topic. Ever since my younger years, I’ve looked forward to the always magical and nostalgic ABC Family’s 25 Days of Christmas movie marathon. Incase you out of towners have no clue what that is, it is a month long event in which the ABC Family channel shows off every Christmas/Holiday film they have the rights to, and even ones that really have nothing to do with the season.

So, for the few of you that can watch this majestical event, I thought I’d give a bit of a strategy guide of sorts to what I deem the must sees of this collection of amazing, to not so amazing, cinematic adventures. So hold onto your white furry trimmed jackets, candy canes, and other holiday props–and let’s take a look at what movies are a must to watch for this years marathon!

The Preacher’s Wife

The-Preachers-Wife-111

Showing:

Tuesday, December 1st at 7am

Thursday, December 17th at 1:30pm

Friday, December 18th at 7am

Kicking off this year’s block of movies is a ’90s classic I’ve always secretly adored. There was in a point in my childhood that I was obsessed with Whitney Houston and thought she was the most beautiful woman on the planet, and every time I heard her sing I got goosebumps instantly. Now, sadly, Whitney isn’t with us, and we all know she had one tragic ending. But movies like this allow for us to see the magic she had, which this particular film shows off perfectly (even better than The Bodyguard in my personal opinion). Also, Denzel plays an angel in this. Perfect casting? Obviously.

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus

hqdefault

Showing:

Tuesday, December 1st at 2:30pm

So, it sounds like ABC will be showing the Rankin and Bass version of this tale, but the image above is from the 2000 animated version a.k.a. the one I prefer–and I’m including it here with hopes you’ll go out and look for it. And if you do, you get one of the coolest renditions of Santa Claus’s origin story (adapted from the classic L. Frank Baum story), and Santa is voiced by Robbie Benson (insert Dalin fangirl sighing here please). Did you know Santa was raised by fairies? He was semi-attractive and had non-white hair at one point? This movie will give you the scoop on those facts and more! Adorable, decently animated, and full of lots of feels, you can’t go wrong with this Christmas flick.

Mickey’s Christmas Carol

Mickeys_christmas_carol_8large

Showing:

Thursday, December 3rd at 9am

Wednesday, December 9th at 6pm

Thursday, December 12th at 2pm

Sunday, December 20th at 11:30pm

Wednesday, December 23rd at 7pm

Well, it comes to no surprise that I ADORE A Christmas Carol, and the multiple movie adaptations that exist. It is by far and away my favorite Christmas related story, and this is definitely one of the better adaptations. Why? Um, Scrooge McDuck playing, well, Scrooge! It was meant to be, movie destiny at its finest. This film also has the distinction of being the only time I was truly creeped out by Goofy. Why? Well I wouldn’t want to spoil that here. Regardless, I am crazy about this version, and you should be too.

Love Actually

Love-Actually-Final

Showing:

Monday, December 7th at 1pm

Thursday, December 17th at 10:15am

Though it will probably be heavily edited, Love Actually is disgusting–and by that I mean, it is way too adorable for my body to handle, and I end up becoming a giant mush ball by the end of it. The Christmas Pageant scene? Crying. The Collin Firth moment at the bar? Crying even more. And the Christmas Lobster! HOW CAN ANYONE NOT LOVE THE CHRISTMAS LOBSTER?! Seriously, it is hard to not be absolutely obsessed with this recent classic, edited or not. Try to not love it–I dare you.

Toy Story Franchise Marathon

Toy-Story-Theme-Song-6

Showing:

Sunday, December 13th starting at 4:30pm

Do I really have to explain why this is awesome? I personally never think of Toy Story as holiday movies, but considering that most kids get a huge slew of toys as presents, this definitely makes sense. There isn’t much to say about these, nor the new TV specials, other than they are treasures of cinematic brilliance. To movie marathon infinity and beyond!

These are just a few of my favorites, aside from the obvious choices. What are your picks? Which movies are you the most excited to see? Any movies missing from ABC’s line up? Because I see a serious lack of Muppets, this year, and I don’t like it. Comment below with your thoughts and screams of delight about this holiday season!

Leave a Reply

