Melissa’s Top 8 Hallow-Month Favorites

Happy Halloween, my Geekettes! October is here, which means all things spooky are upon us. To get everyone in the holiday spirit, I present to you my Top 8 Hallow-Month Favorites.

  1. Hocus Pocus (1993)Hocus-Pocus

This movie defined my Halloween from the age of two. As far back as I can remember, Halloween did not start until I watched Hocus Pocus. Needless to say, it is Halloween all the time because I will watch this movie at a moment’s notice. It doesn’t hurt that the movie is about Salem witches.

2) The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

1993 was a great year for my Halloween memories. Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas is one of my favorite movies of all time. It can be placed in the Christmas movie category, or Halloween. For me, Halloween all the way! Jack Skellington is THE PUMPKIN KING FROM HALLOWEENTOWN! The music is great, the characters are lovable, and the villain is the Boogey Man! What is not to love?!

3) Beetlejuice (1988)

Keeping with our Tim Burton theme, we travel a short distance into his cinematic past to Beetlejuice, a “bio-exorcist” that helps ghosts get rid of the living. In all honesty, I used to have nightmares about this movie. The scene where Beetlejuice rotates his head three hundred and sixty degrees? I ran out of the room. As I got older, I learned to love the movie for all the quirks that came with it. It’s not so scary now.

(The Ultimate Halloween Playlist)

4) The Exorcist (1973)

This movie is on here for one simple fact: it terrifies me. I CANNOT watch this movie. I have seen it once, and that was enough for the week of nightmares it caused me. I know it is Halloween, however, when I start seeing IFC or BBC America showing commercials for the next airing. The story itself is nothing out of the ordinary in the horror genre, it’s the makeup! It is so creepy! I see makeup tutorials for Regan every year and I go by them. I can’t.

5) The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)rocky-horror

Watching this movie at midnight or going out to a midnight show is just tradition! I was lucky enough to be part of a cast for a short period of time and got to partake in the midnight tradition. If you don’t watch The Rocky Horror Picture Show some time during the day of Halloween, you are doing yourself a disservice.

6) Halloween (2007)

I feel that there should be no explanation as to why Halloween appears on this list. It’s pretty obvious. I chose the reboot instead of the original because I like Rob Zombie. He is an amazing director. Nothing beats the original film, of course.

7) American Horror Story (2010 to Present Day)

Ryan Murphy and Brad Fulchuck’s horror anthology makes this list because it has been a staple of my TV obsession since the beginning. Every year we get new characters, played by many of the same actors, and a whole new plot. Each season will have you scratch your head, be thoroughly disgusted, and highly disturbed. AHS is a must!

8) The Jack Chop

This is actually a viral video from the people that made the movie Hatchet. It is extremely bloody, very funny, and Paul Solet swears like a sailor. I cannot start my gory season without watching this Slap Chop parody. Just note, I put the video at the end of the playlist because it is inappropriate for younger viewers. If you happen to be sensitive to gore or are too young to be hearing trucker mouth, stop after video number fourteen.

 

What are some of your Halloween favorites? Tell us in the comments!

Leave a Reply

