I Went To The Devil’s Carnival Road Tour and All I Got Was This Dumb Hat!

Earlier this week Daily Geekette posted a review of Alleluia!, the much-anticipated sequel to 2012’s The Devil’s Carnival. While my fellow writers caught the show in Philadelphia, I treated myself to the awesomeness of the Road Tour’s stop in Massachusetts with a VIP ticket. I roped in an unsuspecting victim, I mean…friend, and headed to Hell in full carnie regalia.

This poor unfortunate soul....Off to Hell we go!
This poor unfortunate soul….Off to Hell we go!

Have you not seen any of the Devil’s Carnival yet? What’re you doing, you sinner? You can get by with DG’s review, but I recommend you watch the first installment of the series, listen to the sequel’s soundtrack, and then come back here. I’ll wait.

Are you done? Shiny! Moving on.

I already mentioned I splurged and grabbed myself a VIP ticket. Did that make my experience better than my fellow Sinners and Saints that paid minimum? I highly doubt that; the Carnival is an experience that rewards us all.  But it meant I got first pick of seats, a signed tour poster, plus a meet-and-greet with creator and star Terrance Zdunich and director Darren Lynn Bousman. I made a fool out of myself in front of them, but I had second row seats, so that’s a plus. Even sweeter was learning “The Ark”: Terrance and Darren tasked us with standing up during the song and dancing along.

Our AMAZING MC for the Carnival.

Our opening act was The Boston BeauTease, a local burlesque troupe. The house was dead silent, while the audience watched in amazement. The act consisted of a puppeteer and his marionette. The woman that played the marionette was a highly talented ballet dancer. She completely captivated the stage with her dance. The audience erupted into cheers as the dancers took their bows.

After taking “The Douche Pledge” for Darren and Terrance (basically promising not to record and share Alleluia online), it was movie time. The vibe in that theater was electric, comparable only to when I saw Hedwig and the Angry Inch in March.

Two words: life changing. Every person in that theater was connected by their mutual love of this show.  The world, in that moment, was perfect: no sadness or anxiety, just a sense of peace. That feeling of togetherness held true for The Devil’s Carnival. All of us were there to support this film that we love so much. We were the same:  present, complete, and forever changed.

If you have to chance to catch the Road Tour in your city, TAKE IT. It is electrifyingly fun, and unlike Hedwig, this show didn’t bring me to tears! That cliffhanger had me bouncing off the walls until 2am.

wpid-20150910_012609.jpgP.S. The hat is actually super comfortable and soft. Most definitely not dumb.

Leave a Reply

