Monthly Geek Obsessions – August

Of all my interests, I find myself gravitating towards a few fandoms and geeky phenomenon more than others in any given month. I am enthusiastically enthralled with many things, but here are some of the geeky stuff that caught my eye this month…

  • Loot Crate

Loot Crate is a monthly subscription service that, for a good price, will send the “Looter” (as its subscribers are called) a box full of geeky items every month. They promise a $40 value in each box, which only costs about $15 per month, depending on which subscription plan you choose. (The Looter saves more money the more months they sign up for.) These items can vary from shirts and socks to action figures and comic books. I find that the quality of the box varies depending on the monthly theme, but I’m usually pretty happy with the selection. I am always excited when I see that black box on my doorstep and it gives me something to look forward to each month.

  • The Following

This is probably my favorite show right now. I have been watching it on Netflix, and when one episode ends I just keep clicking next. The show is about a serial killer with a cult of followers and their exploits which are being monitored by the FBI. It is a riveting, fast-paced show that is addictive and fascinating. I highly recommend it.

  • One More Thing and Other Stories by B.J. Novak

This is a book of short stories from the beloved actor best known for his role on The Office. He has a delightfully sardonic wit that is evident throughout each story. Some contain brilliant humour while others force the reader to think deeply. Each story is entertaining and interesting and I find myself constantly reading passages out loud to my friends and family. You won’t want o stop reading once you start, so read this book when you have a chunk of time to spare and enjoy the bliss of reading such a well-crafted book.

  • Super Mario Brothers Wii

I am addicted to this game! I can spend hours on end trying to get through as many worlds as possible, getting frustrated with the ice level, and hitting question mark blocks. One of my favorite elements of this game is the co-op aspect because some of my favorite memories with my friends occurred while playing this game. There is an added sense of urgency and achievement when you take on a challenge with a friend or family member. Super Mario Brothers is probably one of the greatest games of all time and I enjoy every second of playing it. Every time I get through a new level I feel a sense of accomplishment and eagerness to begin the next level.

  • superhero ice cube tray (Link)

This is a product that I once received in a Loot Crate and it is one of my favorite items in my possession. You fill the ice cube tray with water and it forms ice cubes in the shapes of your favorite Marvel superheroes. This never ceases to impress my nerdy friends when they come over and I serve them drinks with ice cubes shaped like Iron Man. It makes any drink more fun!

  • Art School Confidential

Art School Confidential is an inspiring dark comedy that I could easily watch over and over again. It is a movie about an art student chasing after a girl while also attempting to become a famous artist. It is funny but also shocking and deep. As one of my favorite movies, I don’t want to give too much away, but I recommend this independent film for a viewing experience unlike any other.

  • A capella music

With the growing popularity of Pitch Perfect, a capella music has become increasingly popular as well. This fact is not surprising due to the hard work and talent that goes into a capella performances. One of the most popular a capella groups right now is Pentatonix. The group of five is extremely versatile and has done a number of songs and albums proving their skill and determination. I enjoy the pure sounds of a capella often more than the original songs. Recreating the song with no musical instruments gives the song a new feel and is very entertaining to hear.

  • Avenue Q

This hilarious musical contains songs that explore often undiscussed topics of young adulthood in a humorous way. There are many well-known songs in it that people may not know originated with Avenue Q, but that are commonly known such as “Everyone’s a Little Bit Racist” and “It Sucks to Be Me.” This month I found myself listening to the musical soundtrack on repeat and singing along as I cleaned my apartment or sorted through emails. Even though I unfortunately have never seen the Tony award-winning play live, I am a huge fan of the play and hope to see it someday.

  • art therapy coloring books (Link)

As someone who experiences nearly constant anxiety, it is refreshing to see that there is now a market for products that are intended to relieve stress and ease a person’s mind. Art therapy coloring books typically contain intricate patterns to color that take your mind off of whatever problems you’re facing because you’re so focused on what you’re doing. Being able to focus on an enjoyable activity instead of ruminating on whatever is causing you stress and panic is a healthy solution to a problem many people have. While coloring, one could even listen to music or an audiobook in order to keep one’s mind from wandering elsewhere. There are many varieties of anxiety-reducing coloring books that can match the various interests of different people. There are even books dedicated to creating doodles based on certain designs and colors.

  • Trainwreck

Even though this movie came out in July, I saw it in theatres this month as well and can say that it totally held up. I loved this movie due to its intelligent humor, realism, and reflection on romantic relationships. Amy Schumer brings her own awkward charm to this movie about a player who has endless strings of one-night stands with many guys until she realizes maybe she desires something more. She puts a twist on a classic story that is usually focused around a man and makes it into a feminist movie that portrays strong women (and men) just trying to figure out their lives.

What were some of your favorites this month? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

