In Memoriam: Sir Christopher Lee

imageSir Christopher Lee passed away Sunday at the age of 93. He was not just an outstanding actor, singer, and author, but a husband, a father, and a hero. The Daily Geekette staff would like to send our sincerest condolences to Sir Christopher Lee’s family.

He has made an impression on every single Geekette, and we would like to take this time to recall some of our fondest memories.

Melissa

One of my greatest memories of Christopher Lee is his voice. His voice was a tell that his character was important. He commanded attention. I knew his voice before I connected it to the face. Christopher Lee lent his voice to some of my favorite Tim Burton films; he even graced us with his presence in two live action ones. I will never forget the feeling of being hypnotized as his voice drifted out of the speakers. May you rest well, Sir Lee. Thank you for making our lives richer.

Kayla

I grew up on Star Wars new and old, so I think my first time seeing Sir Christopher Lee act in anything was as Count Dooku in the new trilogy. When I got really obsessed with Lord of the Rings in high school, I learned about Lee’s World War II experiences, and he became someone I worshiped in a rock star God kind of way. This past fall, I taught The Raven to my 8th grade class, and we listened to Lee’s reading of it every few days. I loved being able to share with them Lee’s WWII history and say, “Yeah. That’s the guy who is reading this poem.” I am glad I was able to pass on my love of this man to the next generation.

Carly

I first knew Christopher Lee through his role in the Lord of the Rings films. In college, I discovered his metal album and I was like wow, could this guy get anymore awesome? I mean, there are few things more metal than playing an evil wizard in a successful high fantasy film, but singing in a metal band is one of them. In all seriousness, the world lost a very talented man today. You will be missed, Sir Christopher Lee.

Brianna

Like Melissa, I was introduced to Christopher Lee through his voice, specifically in 1982’s The Last Unicorn as King Haggard. I later grew to love and respect  his work with Lord of the Rings and Star Wars, as well as his wide variety of accomplishments. (Using past tense while talking about him is more difficult than I expected, but I digress…) Lee said “one should try anything he can in his career, except folkdance and incest.” Over the course of his life he completed  230-plus films, spoke several languages,  put out a metal album in his eighties, fought Nazis in WWII, and earned a knighthood.

However, I think my favorite facts about him have to do with his work on The Last Unicorn. When he arrived at the recording studio, Lee was armed with his own copy of the book: complete with special excerpts marked and parts of the book that he felt should not be omitted from the film. A MAN AFTER MY OWN HEART. Better yet, he dubbed Haggard’s dialogue for the German release for free simply because he loved the film. Namárié, Mr. Lee. Nai hiruvalyë Valimar.

Leave a Reply

