BEA’15 — A Weekend to Remember

As I left my house to begin the 4+ hour trip to BEA, my parents called out after me: “Please don’t bring home as many books as you did last year!”

I only kind of heeded their request.IMG_5405

This being my second BEA, I was significantly more prepared for the rush of the expo-attendees, as well as for the sheer number of books piled high at each booth, just begging me to pick them up. In the end, I left with about 40 books – about 20 of which were exclusively for me.
IMG_5366

I’ve already begun reading them (I’ve finished two) and I’ve got to say that, just by reading the book descriptions, as well as looking back on my overall experience, feminism is in high demand. I attended a panel about the upcoming film version of Room by Emma Donoghue, and she said something that really opened my eyes: [paraphrased] “it’s awesome how men are also being brought to the table regarding familial concerns – it’s not just women anymore.” Feminism in regard to women is strong, but so was feminism in regard to men.

IMG_5392I met some really incredible people this BEA: Norton Juster, Felicia Day, and Bernedette Peters to name a few. Some of the Geekettes had coffee with Leanna Renee Heiber, as well as held an interview with Lev Grossman (stay tuned!!). Also, for the first time, our Chiefdom (the four editors-in-chief) actually met each other face to face, and we had a lovely time discussing the future of our site.

IMG_5347

BEA ran much better than last year, as did BookCon. BookCon, learning from the chaos of last year, implemented a plan that, although it wasn’t the most effective, con-workers stuck to and applied well. I was pleased with both the con and the expo as a whole – although it was crowded, I did manage to get most of the books I wanted. My biggest complaint is in regard to the lines for in-booth signings; for example, the line for the Felicia Day signing was deemed by the booth to begin at 1 for her signing at 2, but of course that didn’t stop a line from beginning to form at 11:30!

All in all, a highly successful expo experience. I am super excited to read all of my new books and add to my Goodreads challenge!IMG_5365Shout-out to Litographs for some awesome art and temporary tattoos! Check them out!

My hoard of books that I cannot wait to read is as follows:

Zodiac by Stan Lee, Stuart Moore, and Andie Tong

Diary of a Mad Brownie by Bruce Coville

50th Anniversary Edition of The Phantom Tollboth by Norton Juster

Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stoll  (Finished)

The Eterna Files by Leanna Rene Hieber

The Marvels by Brian Selznick

The Doll Collection edited by Ellen Datlow

Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart

Awake by Natasha Preston (Finished)

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

Hunter by Margaret Lackey

After the Red Rain by Barry Lyga with Peter Facinelli and Robert DeFranco(Finished)

The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black and Cassandra Claire

Poe by J. Lincoln Fenn

Blood Lite II: Overbite edited by Kevin J. Anderson

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

Illusive by Emily Loyd-Jones

V-Wars: Night Terrors by James A. Moore, John Everson, and Weston Ochse

Leave a Reply

