A Farewell to Terry Pratchett

The Daily Geekette would like to send our respects to Sir Pratchett’s wife, family, and friends.

As the day progresses, Geekettes will be updating this article to share our Terry Pratchett stories and memories.

Photo taken by Erin Grand at NYCC 2012
Photo taken by Erin Grand at NYCC 2012

Kayla: I was very lucky in that I got to see Terry Pratchett speak at New York Comic Con in 2012. At the time, the only book I’d read by him was Good Omens. After hearing him speak, I was truly moved he was funny, sincere, and just so brilliant. During the Q&A, someone asked what he’d do if he ever retired and he said, “write more books.” This was a man filled with passion for his occupation. I am unbelievably saddened that he is gone, but I am glad he got his wish, which was to be a writer until the day he died.

imageBrianna: Confession time. The only Pratchett work I’ve read is his collaboration with Neil Gaiman. Now that’s out of the way, I can safely say that I’ve been intimidated by tackling his other works for a very long time. But that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate the man and what he contributed to the literary world. I’ve always been intrigued by his quotes that I see online or hear from friends. There are probably hundreds of thousands to choose from, but I’ll only offer two:

“There are times in life when people must know when not to let go. Balloons are designed to teach small children this.

“Mind you, the Elizabethans had so many words for the female genitals that it is quite hard to speak a sentence of modern English without inadvertently mentioning at least three of them.”
One profound and one funny. Up to you to figure out which is which!
Leave a Reply

