Will You Be My Valentine, fictional film character?

Hello everyone! Valentine’s Day is just around the corner, and to get you excited for it, here are a few film characters I wish I could declare my love to. Even if you don’t have a real Valentine, have no fear! Just jump into the world of film and find some cuties there (that’s what I did)!

valentine-lotr-2

1. Mr. Charles Bingley (Pride and Prejudice, 2005)

JAH_Mr-Bingley-Simon-Woods-jane-austens-heroes-9172913-1280-554

My first time watching the 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice I missed a lot of the story line because I was thoroughly distracted by the cute and kind red headed man. I later learned his name was Mr. Bingley and that he wasn’t actually the main character in the film (oops). I wish Mr. Bingley would be my Valentine because he is dashing, a little dorky, and fully in love with Jane Bennet (even though her family is kind of crazy, messy, and not up to most society standards). If it weren’t for his friend Darcy’s words of warning about the Bennet family, Charles and Jane would have been married almost on the dot. But Mr. Bingley persevered and realized he could never do better than the wonderful Jane. I lost it when he came to call on her at the end of the movie. He comes to propose and ALMOST DOESN’T EVEN DO IT. He’s so nervous and scared, it is too much. Really, you should watch it again:

Mr. Bingley, would you please be my Valentine?

2. & 3. Princess Leia Organa & Han Solo (Star Wars)

Princess Leia and Han Solo in Star Wars

Alright, alright I know I picked two from the same movie, but I really just couldn’t decide. At first, I was going to put Han Solo, but that was too obvious. Almost everyone I know wishes Han Solo would be their Valentine. I mean he’s good looking, adventurous, brave, loyal to his friends, and he doesn’t like to think about odds. I get butterflies just thinking about it. But then, as I was thinking, I realized that Princess Leia had all of those qualities as well! She is beautiful, adventurous, brave, smart, loyal to her friends, and maybe thinks more about the odds than Han. The two characters are definitely fine on their own, but I believe they work better as a pair. They bring out qualities in each other that we had never seen before. Han shows Leia that sometimes it takes a little scoundrel attitude to get things done, while Leia shows Han that standing up for those you love is the bravest thing you can do. They can overcome evil easier as a team and that’s why I have crushes on them both.

tumblr_m69afkg3mu1qbw7q9o1_r1_250tumblr_m69afkg3mu1qbw7q9o2_250 The Star Wars universe is one of my favorites to explore and I wish I could ask both Leia and Han if they would be my Valentines.

4. Mulan (Mulan)

mulan-1998-09-g

Okay, I just had to give a shout out to my favorite Disney Princess of all time, Mulan. Mulan is the perfect Valentine because if she cares about you enough, she’ll pretend to be a man and go to war in your place. Can you say, “romantic”? Mulan was the perfect role model when I was growing up–she wasn’t a fan of doing things everyone else was doing, she loved her family deeply, she was sassy and sweet, and she would give up everything to save her father. Does it get any better than that? Once she joins the army, Mulan taught us that if you work hard you can succeed. She was not particularly perfect at anything, but once she tried again and again, she eventually was able to save China through her smarts, her strength, her bravery, and the confidence she instilled in others. Girls like Mulan don’t come around every dynasty, so I sure would love to send her a Valentine!

tumblr_mt4dk2S8rz1shue0qo1_500

If I could join the army to meet Mulan and ask her to be my Valentine, I’d be fine saying: “Sign me up for the next war!”

5. Sam Wilson, Falcon (Captain America: The Winter Soldier)

312ccaeda7ebdfa93fa2a2f0f65b0bfc

If Sam Wilson looked at me the way he looks at Steve Rogers, I would BEG him to be my Valentine. Introducing the Falcon into the Marvel film universe was one of the best decisions Marvel has ever made. Sam is the superhero you wish you were best friends/lovers with. He is loyal to a fault and would do anything to help out those he cared about. Not only is he strong and and intelligent, he is open and nonjudgemental. For example, when Steve and Natasha come to Sam’s door bloody and bruised, he takes them in and helps them out no questions asked. He even makes them breakfast.

93131c30c7b715d429adb2fc7d9fad43

What a perfect Valentine he would make! Falcon sure does make my heart soar!

So those are just some of my cinema crushes. Please, let me know who you wish your Valentine was in the comments!!

BONUS:

6. Merry & Pippin (Lord of the Rings)

merry-and-pippin2

These two will just be the death of me. I can never get enough of these two hobbits and I would love to ask them both to be my Valentine.

Leave a Reply

