Survive the Snow Storm With These Five Movies

Jenny Slate survives snow storms with a glass of wine
Jenny Slate survives snow storms with a glass of wine

Weather advisories are reporting that the northeast is about to be hit with a ‘historic’ snow storm named Juno. Some can expect two to three feet of snow! This means that, hopefully, we will all have a snow day or two! I think the best way to enjoy a snow day is to grab your favorite snack (popcorn and pretzels and nutella, oh my!) and settle in for a movie marathon. Here are a few of my favorite films to watch while cuddled beneath a blanket, watching the snowfall from a safe and warm distance!

5.  Groundhog Day 

1113groundhog2

Groundhog Day has got to be one of the most classic snow day films of all time…and it may or may not have to do with the fact that Phil Connors the weatherman is stuck in a blizzard and forced to relive Groundhog Day over and over again. This movie gives us the chance to reimagine the ways we move through our daily lives: the choices we could have made, what we should have said to someone, and so forth. The form of this film is one of the most creative and humorous structures used in film. For instance, the repetition of the alarm clock playing Sunny & Cher’s “I Got You Babe” every morning allows for the audience to recognize the song and appreciate that it is unfortunately the same day for Phil. Bill Murray, as Phil, is a natural comedian on screen with an attitude to boot, but his co-star Andie MacDowell, as Rita, holds her own and teaches the weatherman that there is more to life if you are willing to work for it. Be sure to catch this oldie-but-goodie on your blizzard-y day! (Just don’t get stuck in a time warp!)

4. Moulin Rouge! 

158930764_09e352

Moulin Rouge! is an outrageous, colorful, and touching love story. This film is a musical and gives new twists to popular classics like “I Will Always Love You,” “Your Song,” “Like A Virgin,” and “Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend.” I love this movie so much because it is a fast-paced magical carpet ride, keeping your heart and eyes engaged the whole time. Be sure to watch as Christian (Ewan McGregor) moves to Paris, gets mistaken for a Duke, meets Satine (Nicole Kidman), and must create the show, “Spectacular Spectacular,” with a group of misfit artists. Moulin Rouge! is a frolicking adventure with love, mystery, and even some heartbreak. Pick up this film if you love Ewan as much as me–or, watch it if you want to be taken to the majestic Moulin Rouge theatre and experience a “love that will live forever.”

Plus, the beautiful costumes and scenery will be sure to warm you up during these snowy days!

3. The Breakfast Club 

MSDBRCL EC016 Trapped in detention, a group of high school strangers have to spend the day together. The Breakfast Club follows a brain, a princess, an athlete, a criminal, and a basket case as they get to know each other and avoid the evil tidings of the principal. The film has got to be my favorite John Hughes films because it is full of nostalgia, heart, and truth. With a film premise as simple as five kids in detention, it succeeds in commenting on the pressures of high school that every student goes through. And even though this film was made in 1985, it still resonates today. I can see myself in Brian as he admits to not fitting in at school, and Allison’s statement that women are either defined as prudes or sluts still rings loud and clear today! My heart still aches when they realize that they could easily be friends, but probably would not be in school. This film is one of my all time favorite snow day films because Judd Nelson’s final fist pump into the air will keep always keep me warm.

Plus, I love a musical dance montage through a library!

2. Obvious Child

A117_C002_0418MH

Obvious Child follows Donna, a newly unemployed comedian who winds up getting stuck with an unplanned pregnancy, and her journey to try and take hold of her topsy turvy life. This movie holds a special place in my heart. Jenny Slate is a crazy, hilarious, and relatable gem and I cannot get enough of her! Obvious Child is a good snow day movie because it is light-hearted and sentimental, but at times it is sassy and biting. This film deals with pregnancy and abortion delicately and with humor. It does not look down upon the choices a woman can make, it just explores one girl’s story with honesty and care. I cannot get enough of Slate’s raunchy, cute, and sexy comedic style. She is truly a joy to watch and she makes me laugh so much it is easy to forget the frigid weather outside. GO AND SEE OBVIOUS CHILD. (There are fart jokes.)

tumblr_n6lu3qi7kF1twsxt5o1_500

1. The Princess Bride 

Westley-Buttercup-in-The-Princess-Bride-movie-couples-19611184-1280-720When people ask me what my favorite movie is, I can never really give them a straight answer. I love so many different kinds of films: comedy, romance, adventure, action. But then I remember one film that has all of these qualities: The Princess Bride. This film has stuck with me for the longest time. I was captivated by Buttercup and Wesley’s love that seemed to span galaxies. I thought everything was INCONCEIVABLE with Vizzini. I wanted to fight along side with Inigo and Fezzik. Every time I watch this movie I find myself turning into a child once more. I am reminded of how my parents used to tell me these giant adventure stories just like the Grandfather reads to his Grandson. I’ve probably even said, “Is this a kissing book?” once before. The Princess Bride is a film that anyone can enjoy. It is funny, sentimental, dramatic, action-packed, romantic, filled to the brim with adventure. If you were going to watch ONE film on your snow day, I would definitely recommend The Princess Bride. And, if you don’t like it, I think that is just inconceivable.

Happy Snow Day everyone! I hope Juno doesn’t wreak too much havoc out there. Be safe!

So, what do you think? What are your favorite movies to watch when you’re snowed in? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Survive the Snow Storm With These Five Movies

  1. The Neverending Story, Labyrinth or CLUE. Orrrrr The Shining, if you’re up for a scare and not actually trapped in a remote hotel in a snow storm in the mountains!

Leave a Reply

