“Thank You for Making Me an Artist”: DG’s 72nd Golden Globe Awards Highlights

Representation and change was the motif at the forefront of tonight’s 72nd Golden Globe Awards. Feminist dream team Amy Poehler and Tina Fey partnered for one last time to host the award show. Most of the show made me proud to see progress in the TV and film industries. Other moments…well, this is the internet. If you haven’t already heard about the opening monologue or the running gag with Margaret Cho, you will. For the most part though, the quips were quality.

“In the 1960s, thousands of black people from all over America came together with one common goal: to form Sly and the Family Stone.”

laughing aisha tyler“But the movie ‘Selma’ is about the American civil rights movement, that totally worked and now everything’s fine.”

BOOM lydia
#ThrowinSocietyShade

Among the other memorable moments, we had Gina Rodriguez –  Actress in a TV series (Comedy or Musical): “This award is so much more than myself. It represents a culture that wants to see themselves as heroes. My father used to tell me to say every morning ‘Today’s gonna be a great day, I can and I will.’ Well, Dad – today’s a great day; I can and I did.”

“Thank you God, for making me an artist.”

When accepting the Best TV series (Comedy or Musical) award for Transparent, executive producer and writer Jill Soloway  dedicated it “to the memory of Leelah Alcorn and too many trans people who died too young,” as well as to her own transgender parent. “I want to thank the trans community: they are our family, they make this possible. ”

That wasn’t the only win for the series this evening. Jeffrey Tambor’s dedication to his role as transgender woman Maura Feffernan earned him a win for his first ever nomination in the Best Actor in a TV Series (Comedy or Musical). “Oh this is big. This is much bigger than me.” Tambor dedicated his award and performance to the entire transgender community, thanking them for courage, inspiration, patience and “letting us be a part of the change.”

There was a standing ovation regarding free speech, but I really think that should’ve happened during the speech given by artist Common while accepting an award with John Legend for their song “Glory” from Selma. Instead it was starkly quiet.

“As I got to know the people of the civil rights movement, I realized….”

Amy Adams won Best Actress in a Film (Comedy or Musical) for Big Eyes. Unprepared to give a speech, she was flustered, nervous, and utterly heartfelt as she brought up her daughter to the audience. “You speak to her so loudly. She watches everything and sees everything and I am so grateful for all of you women in this room who have such a lovely beautiful voice and are speaking to my daughter.”

 Supporting Actress in a Film winner Patricia Arquette thanked her director Richard Linklater “for shining a light on this woman and the many women like her and for allowing me to honor my own mother with this incredible character” when accepting the award for her role in Boyhood.

Maggie Gyllenhaal – Best Actress in a Series, Miniseries, or TV Movie  -“I’ve noticed a lot of people talking about the wealth of roles for powerful women in television lately…. What I see actually is women who are sometimes powerful, sometimes not. Sometimes sexy, sometimes not.  Sometimes honorable, sometimes not.  And what I think is new is the wealth of roles for actual women in television and film.”

YAY EDDIE REDMAYNE WON, I CAN GO TO BED NOW, RIGHT?

Congrats to Boyhood for beating out Foxcatcher, The Imitation GameSelma, and The Theory of Everything for Best Motion Picture (Drama)! It also took the award for directing, which, I must admit, I rather wanted to go to Ava DuVernay  for Selma. *sigh*

Fashion Spotlight  – Viola Davis, Emma Stone, Kelly Osbourne, Lupita Nyong’o

Confession time – I’m reminded of this every year when I watch the GGs: why do we have a Miss Golden Globe? Is her only role to just look pretty, stand in the back during speeches, then guide the winners and presenters off-stage? Oh, right she also hands over the trophies. Maybe I’m just looking for things to critique since this was a pretty good award show, but I feel like the tradition needs an update. There’s been a Mister Golden Globe once or twice in the past, but we really gotta even that out.

Other things that need updating: treatment of North Korea in the media.  Some of the jokes in the beginning monologue regarding The Interview and its controversy were totally fine (and actually funny), but Margaret Cho pretending to be a stern-faced North Korean demanding a selfie with Meryl Streep got uncomfortable. Admittedly, prior to the broadcast both Tina Fey and Amy Poehler kept reiterating it was their last year hosting and wouldn’t have to put up with any negative feedback. Just because you decide not to pull your punches doesn’t mean the punch is a good idea in the first place.

“I just wanna be better. But this is very encouraging.” Although talking about his own career, I think we need to take Kevin Spacey’s earlier words to heart. The representation and empowerment this evening was a huge step forward for both feminism and civil rights. But we’re still not where we could be. We need to be better.

For a full list of Golden Globe nominees and winners, go here. What moments stick out for you? What’s your take on Amy & Tina’s last year hosting?

Leave a Reply

