Dalin’s Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2015

Ah January, the time where the worst movies go to die. So what is the best thing to do, during this pathetic cinematic month? Well, looking forward to the rest of the year sounds like a good place to start. From a galaxy far, far away, to stories that seem pretty close to this planet, 2015 is gonna be one fantastic year at the movies. So which are the ones I’m the most excited to see? Prepare yourself for one big, epic, insane list–these are my most anticipated movies of 2015!

10 – Kingsman: The Secret Service

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 11.38.18 AM

You know what I love? Fancy men in suits kicking butt. You know what I love even more? Colin Firth being one of those fancy men. And finally, we’ll get to see such a fantasy come true in Kingsman: The Secret Service. Based on the comics by Mark Miller, the movie tells the story of an aging super-spy (Firth), who trains  a new recruit (Taron Edgerton) in the ways of being a fancy suit wearing member of the Kingsman agency. With lots of stylized action sequences, and tons of fun one liners, Kingsman looks to be a fun popcorn flick with some British flair.

9 – The Age of Adaline

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.35.22 PM

I’m not normally one for these emotional, book adaptation sort of dramas. The majority in recent years have been either Oscar bait, or a cheesy, Nicholas Sparks-written mess. But somehow, with all that going against the genre, I’m really interested in Age of Adaline. No, I have never read the book, but the story of an immortal woman and her romantic/dramatic adventures has me intrigued. I also think that Blake Lively is an extremely underrated actress. Yeah, she’s known mostly for her good looks, and she’s been put into some awful movies, but I feel like given the right script, she could eventually become one of the greatest classic Hollywood actresses of her generation. And maybe, just maybe, Age of Adaline will be the movie to showcase that.

8 – Far From The Madding Crowd

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.38.25 PM

If you know me, I am always excited by a costume drama–especially one based on a well known piece of literature. Though I can’t say I’m a huge fan of Far From The Madding Crowd as book, I can say that seeing a new film adaptation does pique my interest, as a film always has the ability to improve upon its source material. The film stars (my number one movie girl crush) Carrey Mulligan along with (one of my other top crushes) Michael Sheen, Tom Sturridge and Matthias Schoenaerts, and the chemistry between them all clearly shows in the trailer. But what strikes me more than anything is the stunning cinematography of Charlotte Bruus Christensen, who perfectly captures the vast scope of the book’s setting. If any of this is an indication of just how beautiful this movie will be, then we’re in for a good, costume-filled time, at the movies.

7 – The Peanuts Movie

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 1.03.19 PM

I grew up with The Peanuts, plain and simple. They’ve been a part of my life from as early as I can remember, and have influenced me throughout. From the little moments of Peppermint Patty’s words of wisdom, to Snoopy’s imagination, The Peanuts never gets old in my book. Though some will argue that they never “got” the franchise, maybe that’s because nothing new has come of it in the form of a movie or TV since the 80’s. Thus, I’m intrigued to see what Blue Sky Studios can do with this property in their hands. Will they remain faithful to Charles M. Schulz’s vision of the comic strip gang, or will they make it more “hip for the kids?” Either way, it is an experiment I am willing to invest in, especially with the gorgeous animation seen thus far.

6 – Avengers: Age of Ultron

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 1.06.19 PM

Well, but of course I had to add the latest Avengers flick to the list. With new heroes, villains, and the return of our beloved misfit crew, this new entry into the MCU looks to be one of the best, especially with the casting of James Spader as main baddie, Ultron. With promises of more Black Widow moments, a possible new romance, a tease of Black Panther’s cinematic debut, and more, it’s hard to chose just one thing to be excited for when it comes to this particular summer blockbuster. But rest assured, it’s most likely going to be awesome.

5 – Cinderella

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 1.02.34 PM

Though Maleficent was a fun time at the movies this summer, it wasn’t the fairy tale movie I was really hoping for. Disney’s latest animation-to-live action film seems to deliver the enchantment angle in a way the Dark Fairy of Sleeping Beauty could not. Enter Disney’s Cinderella, filled with all the charm and sparkle the original animated classic had, plus the added talents of Cate Blanchett as Lady Tremaine and Lilly James in the title role, I smell a classic on our hands. But will this adaptation be one that just disappears at midnight, like so many fairy tale films these days do? Only time will tell.

4 – Jurassic World

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 1.01.13 PM

Back in 2013, when Jurassic Park was re-released in 3D, I saw it four times. Within each of those IMAX viewing experiences, I kept dreaming and hoping that one day I’d be sitting in a similar spot, viewing the newest Dinosaur filled flick in the franchise. Now, we have arrived to that little nerdy dream of mine coming true, with the summer release of Jurassic World approaching. With new dinosaurs, a SeaWorld inspired park design, and Chris Pratt riding in front of a hoard of Raptors, there’s a lot to look forward to with this fourth entry. And until that release date, I’ll be patiently sitting on the edge of my Dino-loving seat.

3 – Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.58.44 PM

Many will argue and question why this isn’t at the top of my list. Simply, there are two other movies I am more excited about, but if they didn’t exist, Star Wars VII would easily take the top spot. With a beautiful cast of diverse actors, old and new, we’re finally getting the sequel of our Jedi dreams. My biggest wish? That we get a team of female Jedis, and also a female villain, something we don’t see too often in this particular galaxy. With a cloud of mystery, and JJ Abrahms at the directing chair, this newest Star Wars adventure could return the franchise to its former, “non- Jar Jar Binks,” glory. May the force be with this one.

2 – Tomorrowland

Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.55.41 PM

As a Disney nerd, I’ve always been intrigued by the magic and mystery that surrounds Tomorrowland. From the unique attractions that have taken place within its futuristic setting, to the sounds and sights of the entire area, it’s very easy to get lost in it. But imagine what that world would look like fully realized? That is the theory surrounding Disney’s latest adventure film of the same name. Though to many this might seem like the typical Disney fare, what sets this Park/Ride spin-off movie apart is the casting of Britt Robertson as the lead. This easily could have been yet another “boys only club” sort of franchise for the company, but maybe this will be the Pirates of the Caribbean for the female demographic, one which doesn’t need a love story to intrigue its audience. And that is a movie I definitely want to get behind.

1 – Crimson Peak

crimson-peak-tom-hiddleston1

If you know me, you know I have deep rooted love for the work of Guillermo Del Toro. To me, the man can do no wrong (though, not all of his work is perfect) and I regard him as one of my hero’s, creatively and otherwise. And even though I’ve loved each and every one of his projects in some way, none have truly captured my imagination and stolen my heart like Crimson Peak. From the premise of a spooky Victorian haunted house, the promise of strong female characters, and the casting of three of my favorite actors in the entire world (Tom Hiddleston, Charlie Hunnam, and Jessica Chastain), I feel as if I’m in film heaven. Hopefully this will be one of Del Toro’s best, sitting comfortably on the shelf with Pan’s Labyrinth and the like. And for this Del Toro fangirl, I have a feeling that is very likely.

So, do you agree with this list? Are you looking forward to any of these flicks? Comment below with your favorites, and tell me if you think anything is missing! Happy Movie Going!

One thought on “Dalin’s Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2015

Leave a Reply

