Five Favorite Films for Christmas

Christmas is a time for gathering together with family and partaking of favorite holiday traditions  In my house, movies like Home Alone and Frosty the Snowman became a thing to be shared every year.  I love those movies, really I do.  I’ll continue to watch them every year, but sometimes it’s nice to expand upon tradition and explore some more off beat holiday movie selections.  In no particular order, here are five of my favorite weird Christmas movies, perfect for sharing with friends and family that might want to give Rudolph a break.

`1) This is the obvious choice.  It’s on probably every list of unique Christmas movies, but I couldn’t not include it.  The Nightmare Before Christmas is one of those weird movies that everyone knows and no one can quite decide whether it’s for Halloween or Christmas.  Personally, I think it’s for anytime and I’d be more than happy if Jack Skellington came to my house instead of Santa.jack-nightmare-burton

2) If you look on Netflix you might come across a horror movie called Santa’s Slay.  If you do, watch it.  It’s awful, but the absolute best kind of awful.  It’s the kind of awful that knows it’s ridiculous and runs with it.  It’s possibly one of the funniest horror movies I’ve ever seen, mostly because it is so bad.

3) Santa Claus Conquers the Martians is another one of those cult movies that is so bad it santa-claus-conquers-the-martians-scenebegs to be watched.  It dates from the 60’s and features Santa being spirited away by green men from Mars.  Watch it, laugh, and wonder what the writers were taking when they came up with the concept (it was the 60’s after all).  Better still, there’s a Mystery Science Theater 3000 version of it.

4) Batman Returns puts Tim Burton on this list twice, but that’s okay.  This is one of my favorite Batman films.  It’s campy, weird and hilarious.  Also, it features Michelle Pfeiffer as my all time favorite Catwoman.  The Christmas music, celebrations and penguins with candy cane striped explosives make it one of my favorite holiday films.MichellePfeifferCatwoman1

5) Gremlins is my favorite 80’s movie of all time and it’s perfect for Christmas.  It’s fun, Gizmo!violent, and probably shouldn’t have been marketed to children as much as it was.  Still, I saw it as a kid and love to laugh at it as an adult.  Seriously though, I did always kind of want Gizmo as a pet.

There are tons of holiday movies out there aside from the traditional fare.  They run the gamut from quirky comedies to ridiculous slasher films and everyone has their individual preferences.  These are just a few of my favorites that my siblings and I may be found watching this Christmas Eve.  Share some of your personal favorites in the comments below.

One thought on “Five Favorite Films for Christmas

Leave a Reply

