Most Anticipated Books of 2015

With 2014 coming to a close, there are a lot of things I’m going to remember fondly, however I’m very excited for 2015 to start and the main reason is books! 2014 had some great ones, but I’m ready to start reading some items that I’ve been anticipating for a very long time. I also feel that 2015 is going to bring a lot of conclusions to some wonderful series.

Winter and Fairest by Marissa Meyer

imageWinter is the fourth book in the Lunar Chronicles, a series of fairy tales set in a sci-fi future. This one is about the antagonist’s stepdaughter, who is probably Snow White. Oh yeah, and she’s a little nutty. This is the first book in the series that will not take place on earth, but the Lunar colony on the moon, and is the last in the series.

Fairest is the backstory for Levana, the Lunar Chronicles antagonist. I can honestly say I’m more excited about this one than I am about Winter. I’m sad that the series is ending, and I desperately want to know how Levana became the heartless dictator she is. I anticipate this book will hold a very emotional tale.

Winter comes out on Jan. 9th and Fairest joins it Jan. 27th.

Prudence by Gail Carriger

imagePrudence is *spoiler* the daughter of the two protagonists in The Parasol Protectorate series, my favorite steampunk series. This is the first in a YA series starring Prudence on her own adventures. From hearing Carriger speak as well as the description of the book, Prudence is just as inquisitive and nosy as her mother. That plus the fact that she has a dirigible will make for an excellent mystery.

Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan

If you haven’t read Will Grayson, Will Grayson, I suggest you do so before March. A collaboration between John Green and David Levithan, it tells the story of two teenage boys named Will Grayson who interact for one night and are forever changed by the experience. One of the Wills has a best friend named Tiny Cooper, a very large, very flamboyant gay man. He was one of my favorite parts of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and now he’s getting his own story! If you’re wondering why this book is on this list, as it features no women, nor was it written by a woman, it’s because Levithan has done some wonderful things to bring light to issues surrounding gender, and I anticipate this book will do no less.

Prudence and Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story hit shelves March 17th.

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

imageThis is the second book in the Diviners series, and if you haven’t read the first, you must. I also highly suggest listening to the audiobook, and am hoping the same woman records Lair of Dreams. The Diviners is a horror-fantasy series set in the 1920’s featuring a cast of teenagers gifted with a unique power. The first book brought them all together to solve a mystery, so now that they’re all united, I can only anticipate the troubles they’ll face together.

Lair of Dreams is released on April 14th.

Fables by Bill Willingham

Fables, one of the best comic book series ever written, is ending. I am not happy about this. I have spent the last few months sobbing as beloved characters I have been with for years are either dying or getting their ends wrapped up and tied neatly with a bow. Whichever the case, 2015 will be a farewell to a lot of characters I love. I always look forward to new issues of Fables and Fairest, but it will take me a while to read these, as I anticipate this being a very emotional journey for all Fables readers.

Fables vol. 21 comes out in May, with mysterious vol. 22 being released in June.

Kitty Saves the World by Carrie Vaughn

imageFor those not in the know, Kitty is a werewolf and also a radio talk show host. There are currently twelve mysteries in the series, with an overarching plot that has, in the most recent books, been becoming the main plot. Hopefully, in 8 days I will be holding a preordered copy of Low Midnight, the thirteenth book in the Kitty series. However, I’m really nervous to read that book, and from the title alone, this fourteenth book has me really intrigued. Low Midnight will be the first book not told from Kitty’s perspective, but Cormac and Amelias’, as these two characters currently share Cormac’s body. While I have no doubt Vaughn will make this great, I really love Kitty’s snark, and I think I’ll miss being in her head. Hence, my excitement for Kitty Saves the World. Not to mention, I can definitely see this book featuring a battle like no other.

Kitty Saves the World comes out on Aug. 4th.

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

If you aren’t excited about this book, you’re reading the wrong website. Felicia Day, Queen of the geeks, is writing a memoir. Day is really open and honest about most things, so I’m intrigued to see what she has to say. She’s also a really good writer, which makes me excited to see what she can do on page rather than for YouTube.

You’re Never Weird on the Internet supposedly comes out in August, with no official release date yet.

 

What are you excited to read in 2015? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

